Facebook’s new Security Feature: ‘Upload your clear picture’

There has been an increase in demand for Facial recognition system ever since Apple introduced its new feature to authenticate users on iPhone X, which has paved way for the Facebook to opt for a similar based system. Now Facebook is currently testing a new Captcha based system which asks for your picture.

Facebook’s New Captcha Feature

Facebook choosing to this new security feature is now enabled this as a test feature in order to find a suspicious activity. This feature now obliges users to upload their picture in order to prove they are the authorized person. Soon after the verification, It determines the account is authentic or not.

This feature was outed by a user on Twitter earlier this week. Facebook now appears to ask the user like “Upload a photo of yourself” and after verification it will then delete the picture from their servers. If they refuse to upload their picture

“Please upload a photo of yourself which clearly shows your face. When you send us a photo, we’ll check it and then permanently delete it from our servers.”

A Facebook spokesperson to the Verge, confirmed that this as their new security feature. This feature is an automated process which checks the picture and compares it with the pictures on other profiles to ensure it’s not duplicate. Once the verification is done the picture will be deleted from their servers.

catch suspicious activity at various points of interaction on the site, including creating an account, sending Friend requests, setting up ad payments, and creating or editing ads, said the Facebook Spokesperson.

Users should upload an original image which they have never uploaded to Facebook. And if a user tries to upload the already uploaded picture or a selfie, they will be locked out of their account with a message stating “We will get in touch with you“.

” You Can’t Log In Right Now. We’ll get in touch with you after we’ve reviewed your photo. You’ll now be logged out of Facebook as a security precaution “, said the message

The users were even locked out of their accounts during this verification as a part of security precaution. Already there are many people who have encountered this new security feature. The Social giant is testing this feature as of now and it is yet to announce how widely this feature is available to users around the globe.

Facebook users who suspect that their account is hacked or not can click this following link.

Facebook had started a project couple of weeks earlier which could help to eliminate revenge porn and to know in detail about this feature click this link. This Captcha feature now looks like an another one rolled out in the recent weeks with the same genre featuring ‘ask users for their pictures‘.

Not everyone trusts Facebook and will upload their picture. If Facebook makes this Captcha feature as mandatory, then this may even result in people deactivating or deleting their own accounts. 😉

Facebook Comments